Still waiting this morning – no show!

October 24, 2008

Boy, am I cranky today!  I stayed up until 2 am waiting for our guest to show up.  Finally, when I could no longer keep my eyes open, I wrote her a note that I’d left the lights on in her room upstairs and would see her for breakfast in the morning.  I left the front door unlocked and the outside lights on too, turned the baby moniter that we keep by the front door on, and went to bed.  You can just imagine how well I slept, listening for her arrival!

I checked around 5 a.m. and she still hadn’t come in.  I was a little bit worried, because she has stayed with us before, so I called the office first thing and spoke with the girl who had booked the room.  The conversation went like this:

Me:  Hi C.  E didn’t arrive last night; is everything okay?

C:  E, (who apparently was with her) Where did you stay last night?

E: (In the background) The [chain hotel].

C:  But I had you booked into the Bed & Breakfast!

E:  No, they (other office) told me to book my own room.

C:  Do you want to stay at the B&B tonight?

E:  Well, I already gave the hotel my credit card number.

C:  (to me) I’m so sorry!

It’s too bad.  I will be charging the company card for last night’s non-stay, and a $25 cancellation fee for tonight’s reservation.  I think they need to work on the communication between offices!  I was tired & cranky annoyed enough this morning , I was going to charge the full amount for tonight too, but my husband, whom I had sent to bed at midnight so at least one of us could sleep, reminded me that I don’t want to ruin the relationship for future bookings with them. 

One of the hardest parts of this job is managing to hold my tongue!

Leave a Reply

