11 Life-Filled Years

November 29, 2008

Today is our 11th wedding anniversary and what a marriage we have!  I can only hope that our children will be lucky enough to have a marriage like ours, built on love, friendship, trust, respect & laughter.  (With the occasional snarky comment or heated moment thrown in…)  We’ve laughed together through the good times and supported each other through the bad times.  We’re raising four independent, confident and usually likeable children.  We have a successful business and an abundance of friends – not just acquaintances, but true friends.   What more could we need (other than to maybe win the lottery…)?

Although it’s easy to fall into the role of Mom & Dad, we switch right back to Anne & D’Arcy when it’s just the two of us.  We support one another, listen to one another, consult one another, and trust one another.  When we were married, I feared that something would happen to one or the other of us and we wouldn’t make it to our 50th Anniversary because 50 years just wouldn’t be *enough*.  I still feel that way.

We’re celebrating tonight by having all the area B&B owners over for dinner.  I should be getting ready, but at this time 11 years ago, I was stalling to keep my father from getting me to the church too early.  (He was anxious to get rid of me?!?)  Our wedding day was the happiest, best day of my life.  (The kids’ birth are a close second, but let’s face it – I was in pain during those!)  we were married in an old church in Prospect, NS, where we were living at the time.  It was a blustery -15*C, but the sky was clear and I was so in love, I hardly noticed the cold.  Our reception was at D’Arcy’s parents’ house with our families & just a few friends; we went into Halifax later in the evening and had a dance which all of our friends were invited to.  We were among the last to leave.

Shortly after we were married, somebody asked my mother what D’Arcy was like, and her reply was that if they had to chose a husband for me, they couldn’t have done any better! 

What a lucky girl I am!! And D’Arcy, I (still) want to see your smiling face 45 years from now!

I leave you with a slideshow of the time period from engagement to wedding to honeymoon…

2 Responses to “11 Life-Filled Years”

  1. susan Says:

    Congratulations on your anniversary!
    I still remember the first time I met you both when you came to Texas…Anne, it was only 45 degrees (F) outside and you were running around barefoot in San Antonio, happy because it was so “warm”!
    You are such a nice couple and I’m happy to be a part of the family. I’m looking forward to the day we can show you around here in Oregon.
    Give DArcy and the kids a hug for me!

  2. LeeAnne Says:

    Congratulations!! It seems like just yesterday that you were working on the slideshow for your 10th anniversary — time certainly does fly! Here’s to many, many more wonderful years!


Leave a Reply

