Heat

December 5, 2008

Heat has been a constant discussion for as long as D’Arcy & I have been together.  He will walk around in short sleeves & a vest in winter, and I often wear a sweatshirt in the summer.  As you can imagine, our home costs a fortune to heat.  We have about 3600 feet of living space plus a full basement and attic, and the whole house is on one zone.  D’Arcy finds it comfortable here at 19*C, while I find it chilly, and I like it around 21*C, but he finds it too warm.  Two degrees doesn’t seem like it would make a big difference, but it does.

Yesterday, when he arrived home, D’Arcy accused me of turning up the heat because it was 23*C in the hall.  I swore I didn’t and surmised that it was probably because I’d done eight loads of laundry and had the dryer set so that the heat gets pumped into the house instead of outside.  Today, however, I noticed that even I felt hot and it was almost difficult to breathe.  I checked the temperature and it read 24*C!! 

I haven’t caught her, but I would guess Olivia has a new trick…

One Response to “Heat”

  1. Destiny Says:

    or is it a gremlin…cause wasn’t that how the movie went? Right before Christmas the Gremlins caused havoc all over the city.
    We bought a programmable thermostat off of e-bay it helps with the bills but also little “helpers” need to understand how to over-ride the program in order to change things. Hopefully your little helper doesn’t bake you all too much.


Leave a Reply

