An expensive day

February 7, 2009

We had an expensive day around here yesterday.  The girls & I were scheduled for haircuts in the morning, so I was running around getting ready.  I put my purse & Olivia’s epi-pen bag by the back door and went scurrying around some more.  I got the girls dressed, went to the door, and discovered the epi-pen bag open & empty.   With an increasing sense of dread, I asked the girls where the epi-pens were and Olivia took me into the tv room.  There, in the middle of the floor was one epi-pen, intact, in its case.  The other had been set off.  Aargh – there goes $120 since our insurance only covers two/year.

We went and got our haircuts although those only cost $40 for the three of us including tip.  We love Patti!!  Afterwards, we went to get Sarah’s glasses fixed (still under warranty – phew) and then to the Post Office to mail a baby gift to Russia.  We had packed five of the “classic” board books and some of the girls tiny special dresses into a Rice Krispie Box to send to baby Masha.  The parcel weighed 2kg.  To send the package surface was $40 which I thought was reasonable.  (It is going to Russia after all…)  Then the clerk informed me it would arrive in 2-3 MONTHS!  I really would like the dresses to get there before the poor child is off to school, so I sent them air – for $78.58.  I wonder if that parcel gets its own seat on the airplane…

As I’ve mentioned before, my laptop seems to have a virus and probably a super worm too.  My brother is going to clear everything off of it and reload everything from scratch for us, so I’ve been working madly saving, printing and deleting emails (I had over 2000 in my in box!) and moving everything I need to save onto removable drives.  D’Arcy went out and bought two 4GB drives to allow me to do that.  Luckily, they were on sale, so they were only $30.  Then we discovered that we have 14GB of photos & videos on our hard-drive!  So for $100, we’ve had to get a 16GB drive for those.  

Do I dare wonder what’s next?!

One Response to “An expensive day”

  1. Kate Says:

    I learned last week that I can’t send anything weighing more than 4 pounds to Canada via surface; it HAS to be airmail from here. Which meant a stack of magazines, that I was trying to offload just to clear some space and be nice, ended up costing me $35. I could have broken it into smaller parcels, but it wouldn’t have saved a whole lot and I was crabby by then.


Leave a Reply

