Pancake Tuesday

February 24, 2009

It was on Pancake Tuesday five years ago that we found out I was pregnant with Sarah.  The boys were three and five and it was a really snowy day so school was canceled.  We didn’t say anything to them right away because we were going to try to keep the pregnancy a secret for awhile, since my previous pregnancy (twins) resulted in miscarriages at 7 & 12 weeks.

I started making pancakes for supper that night, a new recipe with cottage cheese that involved making the batter in the food processor.  (I was pregnant – I was trying to be as healthy as possible…)  I remember the moment vividly when Alex came up to me while I was standing at the sink, hugged me & pressed his head into my belly.  Then he looked up at me and said, “I think you have my baby sister ‘Rosie’ in your belly.”  D’Arcy & I couldn’t believe our ears!!  From the mouths of babes…

He still remembers that day too, but because he HATED the pancakes.  Now, each year, he still asks, “We’re not going to have those awful pancakes with the cottage cheese again, are we?”  He even asked this morning, five years later!

Tonight we’ll be having our egg-dairy- soy-free pancakes at home, with pear sauce or warm maple syrup (the kids will probably have both), and there will be no big announcements this year…

Dairy/Egg/Soy Free Pancake Recipe:

  • 3 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/3 cup Rice Milk (I like vanilla flavoured!) 
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil, 1/4 cup water, and 3 tsp. baking powder, mixed together

Place all ingredients in a large mixing bowl; mix well with wire whisk.  Make into pancakes and enjoy!

One Response to “Pancake Tuesday”

  1. LeeAnne Says:

    How cool that Alex still remembers! (I assume you told him after his grand prediction?) This will be a great story, both for him and for Sarah, as they grow up!


Leave a Reply

