So ready for Spring!

March 5, 2009

There was a robin in our backyard yesterday, despite the fact it is still fairly cold  -12*C!  I am so ready for spring!

For the past two weeks, five out of six of us have had “the bug” that is going around.  (Fever, vomiting, headache, head cold, sore throat, chest cold in many combinations…)  It occurred to me last night that other than going to the van to drive to the other B&B for dinner on Saturday night, I have not been outside since last Sunday – February 21st!  That’s 12 days!  Couple that with late nights, early mornings & musical beds and it’s no wonder I’m so cranky.  

This morning I had a hard time saying a civil word to anyone.  Olivia got into something yesterday (I suspect Sarah’s yogurt*) and had a reaction last night:  Red cheeks, copious amounts of gas, hysterical crying, a sleepless night, and diarrhea.  She was still beside herself this morning and my patience had worn thin long ago.

Sarah was crying because she was heartbroken.  She had climbed up to the shelf yesterday where I keep the seven small pieces of her Russian Matrioshka our friend “Joe” from Moscow gave her this summer and took them all to bed with her.  She opened them all when she woke up and has lost #10.  It’s about the size of Olivia’s pinky fingernail – good luck with finding that!  I won’t be able to vacuum or wash her sheets until I find it.  I’m just afraid it fell down into her radiator and is lost forever. ..

Evan is well enough to go back to school today, but didn’t pack his backpack last night.  He asked for help to find his music for school, and I spent 20 minutes looking for it, all the while watching the clock as it got closer to bus time.  Finally I told him I couldn’t find it so would he like me to write a note to his teacher saying I would continue the search today?  I went to insert said note into the front pocket of his agenda and guess what I found?!?  ($@*#$&)

Finally I got the three boys off to school, called the preschool to say that Sarah still won’t be in today and fed our guest breakfast.  I told him I hoped he hadn’t been woken up by all the early morning activity, but he reassured me he hadn’t heard a thing!  Sarah is now settled nicely back in my bed watching tv, and Olivia is eating left-over spare ribs and coloring.  I have given myself until 10:00 when I have to get to work.

We have a function here at the B&B on Saturday night (a surprise 40th birthday party) which was supposed to be cocktails for 40-60 people.  When I spoke to the caterer last night, she told me that the number is now 70-90!!  I’m really not sure where we’re going to put that many people, let alone their coats & boots since it’s supposed to be messy AGAIN on Saturday.  I have to clean out our living-room/playroom because I think we’re going to have to set the bar up in there…  Tomorrow I’m tied up with a conference & banquet, so I need to get as much done today as I can.

D’Arcy & the boys have cubs tonight and there is some controversy going on there.  The camp was cancelled this weekend and the leader of the Pack is ticked off about it.  (I personally think he’s ticked off because he didn’t make the decision.)  This is the same leader that Evan had the problem with earlier in the year.  With the weather forecast being what it was, there is no way the camp *shouldn’t* have been cancelled.  However, he’s called an “emergency” meeting to discuss the “process”.  The emails that are going back and forth imply that the other leaders don’t care as much as he does.  I reminded D’Arcy that this man has a 9-5, Monday-Friday job and one child.  Among the other leaders, there is a grocery store worker who works shift work and has two kids plus an exchange student; a single-dad with two kids who is a chef in a restaurant which is anything but normal hours; a nurse who works shift work at the hospital, with two kids plus a wife who is due to have their third child anytime in the next few weeks; and D’Arcy who has two jobs, four kids, a cranky wife, and is trying to write a Thesis to finish his M.Ed.  Not to mention the other activities these leaders are involved in with their other children!  I was ready to write a letter last night myself, but D’Arcy told me to cool it.  This leader wants to make sure all leaders are “on the same page” and “can present a united front to work as a team in front of the kids” tonight.  As far as I can tell, he (and I as well, I suppose…) is the only one making an issue out of this!

D’Arcy called a few minutes ago to ask if I was feeling any better and I told him that if it’s still nice out when he gets home from school, I’m going to go for a run before my head explodes.  He said he’d hurry home! 😉

Wish us luck!

*Sarah had a cup of vanilla yogurt yesterday afternoon and left it sitting on the table in our tv/play room.  Olivia picked it up and moved it to the kitchen, getting some on her fingers.  She then wiped them on her shirt.  I did not see her put her fingers in her mouth, nor did I run to get a cloth to wipe any traces of the yogurt off.  She otherwise, did not get into anything she was allergic to yesterday that I’m aware of.  She’s scheduled for an in-office food challenge for dairy in April, but now I’m not holding out so much hope…

One Response to “So ready for Spring!”

  1. LeeAnne Says:

    No wonder you’re having a hard time being civil!!! I never fail to be amazed at all you’ve got going on … sometimes I feel like I’m barely keeping my head above water with ONE child and a smallish home.

    Hope you got your run in …


Leave a Reply

