Not for those with a weak stomach…

April 6, 2009

Last night, I decided to go to bed “early” and read for a bit.  It was about 11:30 when I headed upstairs and when I got to the landing, I noticed the distinct smell of vomit.  I peaked in at Olivia and she looked fine, then peered up at Sarah, only to discover that she had thrown up in her sleep.  I called down to D’Arcy for help and it wasn’t until I turned on a light, I realized that she REALLY threw up in her sleep.  

Copious amounts.

In her hair, on her face, all over her pillow, blankets, comforter, baby,  bunk bed, and down onto Olivia’s bed, guard-rail and the carpet below.  Ugh.  Does anyone else have children who vomit in their sleep?  All four of our kids have done this on occasion with Evan & Sarah being the worst offenders.  It worrys me…

We make a good team, D’Arcy & I.  We both started to strip the bed around her and I ran the bathtub.  She was NOT impressed to be woken up when I put her in the tub, but I had no choice.  D’Arcy cleaned the carpet while I tried to get the mess out of her hair, and then all the commotion woke Olivia who started to wail.   I looked at D’Arcy at one point and said, “This is one time I’m actually glad we don’t have any guests!”  

We got Sarah cleaned & dried and curled up on the futon in our room and Olivia settled into our bed.  D’Arcy got the laundry going since we had to wash all of both beds then came to bed himself around 12:30.

We had just gotten settled when we heard thumps from the boys’ room upstairs.  D’Arcy hopped out of bed and went to check – only to discover that Alex had just thrown up all over his bed.  We got him cleaned up and I made Olivia’s bed up for him while D’Arcy stripped Alex’s bed and threw it in the wash.  (Definitely one of those nights when having two washers is justified!!)  

I really can’t recall having two kids throwing up at the same time before, but that could just be “mother’s amnesia”…

It was well after one before we got everyone settled and we got into bed ourselves.  Luckily, no one was sick again and everyone seems fine today. We’re not sure if it was something they ate, or what?  Alex seems to think it was the jelly beans his grandmother gave him at the concert in the afternoon (all 10 of them!).  Hopefully that’s as far as it goes.

Sarah & Olivia did great at their dentist appointments this morning.  Sarah gagged on the x-ray film, and again when they were doing the fluoride, but didn’t throw up.  My parents, bless them, have taken Alex to his eye appointment at the IWK this afternoon for me.

Now to get back to that mountain of laundry…

2 Responses to “Not for those with a weak stomach…”

  1. swimminhill Says:

    Yikes! What a night… Glad everyone is feeling better this morning. Darn jelly beans. 🙂

  2. LeeAnne Says:

    Oh, good grief!! What a bad night! I hope they’re feeling better!


Leave a Reply

