Our Ballerina

June 1, 2009

I often feel relief on Mondays when the business of the weekend is over.  Today is no exception.  We had appointments, a dance rehearsal, guests, a birthday party, a family gathering & our nephew’s First Communion, preparing for a dinner here, and the highlight –  Sarah’s first Dance Recital.

She (and we!) were so excited!

Sarah has wanted to be a ballerina for as long as she’s known what a ballerina is.  My mother stood in line last summer while we were in PEI on vacation to register her in creative movement for us and  starting in September, Tuesdays became their special day.  Ginna would pick Sarah up from preschool, take her to their house for lunch (a “girl” cheese sandwich each week), spend time together in the afternoon, and then go to Sarah’s dance class before bringing her home in time for supper.

Sarah went to my parents’ house on Thursday, since I was away at the TIANS Conference, and my mother kept her until yesterday.  They went to Sarah’s dress rehearsal together on Saturday morning, and before her performance yesterday, my mother got Sarah’s hair into her ballerina bun & dressed in her costume before bringing her home to get her make-up applied.    Sarah was so excited and insisted on putting on her lipstick herself!  The child has such long eyelashes – you can really tell with mascara on!

Make-up & hair done, ready to go to her recital.  Our azelia is beautiful right now!

Make-up & hair done, ready to go to her recital. Our azelia is beautiful right now!

We weren’t allowed to take photos during the show, but we will be buying the DVD.  The three creative movement classes danced to “Circle of Life” from “The Lion King”.  They were adorable and I cried proud tears through the entire thing!  (I had the foresight to wear water-proof mascara!) After they performed, the parents went to the stage to pick them up, and when we got back to our seats Alex presented Sarah with three peach roses, one from each sibling.

Our ballerina on the stage at intermission

Our ballerina on the stage at intermission

After I took this picture, Olivia wanted to get on the stage too and threw a full-blown two-year-old tantrum (complete with throwing herself down on the floor & flailing around), saying “MY TURN!  MY TURN DANCE!”  D’Arcy ended up taking her out of the auditorium for most of the second act.

Sarah & Chloe who had danced to "My Favourite Things" from "The Sound of Music"

Sarah & Chloe who had danced to "My Favourite Things" from "The Sound of Music"

We had invited my parents & my Auntie Ruth back to our house afterwards for supper.  It was a beautiful afternoon and we took advantage to sit on the back deck for the first time this season!

A rare moment of relaxation

A rare moment of relaxation

We had great fun outside.  Evan had received some Mentos in his treat bag from the birthday party he went to on Saturday night, so convinced his father to buy a bottle of diet coke so that they could do the mentos in the pop Science experiment.

My father enlisted his ballerina’s help to plant the onions in our garden.  There is still a chance of frost at night for the next week or so, so we’ve just started planting some of the heartier veggies.   The other kids were interested, but Sarah was the one who wanted to help!

Gardening with Beanah

Gardening with Beanah

I love how she has her hand on his knee!

I love how she has her hand on his knee!

Evan, climbing on the deck

Evan, climbing on the deck

Alex found an inchworm and was pointing it out to Olivia

Alex found an inchworm and was pointing it out to Olivia

D’Arcy & I had cooked Saturday night so that I wouldn’t need to spend all my time in the kitchen when we got back.  The menu was planned around Sarah’s requests:  Ham (with a Bourbon glaze), German potato salad, broccoli with a citrus crumb topping, honeyed carrots with raisins, a corn & tomato salad with feta, and rolls I had made before the recital.  I decorated the table with a ballet theme and used the rest of the roses from her bouquet and forget-me-nots (my favourite weed flower) as centerpieces.

The centerpiece

The centerpiece

The table

The table

We had a delightful dinner.  For dessert, Evan had made lemon pudding, which we added sorbet to (Olivia just had sorbet) and D’Arcy and I had made ballerina cookies.

Dessert

Dessert

Sarah's expression as she realized what the cookies were!

Sarah's expression as she realized what the cookies were!

Sarah & Ginna

Sarah & Ginna

Olivia couldn't fight sleep any longer...

Olivia couldn't fight sleep any longer...

What a wonderful day!

There is something so special about watching your children do something they love!  I’m hopeful that this was just the first of many ballet recitals – I’ve kept the pink tulle for next year, just in case!

4 Responses to “Our Ballerina”

  1. swimminhill Says:

    Wonderful! I can’t wait to see the video, give Sarah a big “congratulations hug” for me! The table looked beautiful, must have made the day that much more special for Sarah. I might have got a little misty reading about your day! 🙂 xo

  2. Maham Says:

    You have an adorable family! I hope Sarah’s dream about becoming a ballerina comes true! My dream is to do something in the medicine field when I’m older (I am 14 right now..turning 15 in November so I’m still in grade 9!), but all dreams no matter how different are all still dreams, and I can understand how she might feel about this…probably with more passion than me, especially at her age! Pretty please read and reply back on my comment about the show In Real Life, when your boys met Aaron Langille. “Sigh”…they are so lucky. 🙂

    Wishing you the best!
    -Maham

  3. LeeAnne Says:

    What great photos!! Sarah looks beautiful, and I was LOL at her gardening while wearing her ballet attire. 🙂


  4. […] let me know that she was wondering what her cookies would look like this year.  Apparently, I unknowingly started a new “tradition” last year after her first recital. This year's ballerina cookies, to match Sarah's […]


Leave a Reply

