In the Kitchen

June 24, 2009

On the wall by my stove hangs a “Kitchen Proverb” given to me by my sister-in-law at my bridal shower.  It is one of my favourite possessions and I feel it exactly describes my kitchen:

Kitchens are made for

long talks

with close friends

loving families

and lots of laughter.

Kitchens are made for

daydreams

and growing things

quiet times

and creative moments

for sharing and preparing

the blessings of life.

My friend Kate has a blog (she’s the one who got me started on my own.)  Every Wednesday, she posts a topic and some of her friends also devote their blogs to that topic as well.  I’ve never joined in before, but her topic today was “In the Kitchen” and as you must know by now, that is where I spend most of my time.  (My laundry room is attached to my kitchen…)  The kitchen is most definitely the heart of our home, where we eat together, play together, cook together, talk together; even the time-out stairs are located in the kitchen!

Interestingly enough, purely by coincidence, I took some pictures out of my kitchen window the other day, just because my window boxes & rhododendron were making me happy.  It was raining, and I was using Alex’s camera (Olivia dropped mine – again!) so they aren’t the best quality, but it gives you an idea of what I see out my kitchen window and why I am so happy spending time here.

The window over the sink, looking out at the flowerboxes & side yard.  The rhododendron is beautiful this year!

The window over the sink, looking out at the flower-boxes & side yard. The rhododendron is beautiful this year!

Looking out towards the right

Looking out towards the right

...and to the left at the Mock Orange.  It will be in bloom before too long!

...and to the left at the Mock Orange. It will be in bloom before too long!

Leave a Reply

