Pole Dancing

August 3, 2009

Caught your attention, didn’t I?!

Our nephew is getting married this coming Saturday, so I attended a party for his bride-to-be this weekend.  It was hosted by the sisters of the bride & groom and the party was made up of mostly relatives & close friends.   I wasn’t sure what to expect, so went dressed like this:

IMG_6267_1

I picked up my sister-in-law, Erin, and we went over to the hotel where the girls had rented a suite for the party, together.  One of our other sisters-in-law was already there when we arrived, along with a couple of girls I had met before.  Everything was decorated with pink, the colour of the wedding, and looked great.  They had a great spread of sushi & other nibbles.  The “shower” was supposed to be a surprise for Lisa, while Chris (our nephew) was having his bachelor party in Montreal!!  I have a feeling she knew about it though…

IMG_6269_1

Once Lisa arrived, it didn’t take long for things to get down to business.  First, everyone was given a drink called “The Lisa” (a take on a cosmopolitan) and then there was a knock on the door.

In walked a very pleasant woman who said she needed to “find a stud”.

You can just imagine the quips that started going around that room full of women!!

Turns out she needed a stud  – literally.

She got out her stud-finder and proceeded to set up her dancing pole so she could start instruction!!

IMG_6275

We had so much fun & laughed so hard!!  Once Lisa got past the fact that her mother & future mother-in-law were watching, she got into it!  In fact, her birthday is on Friday and I hear she’s asked for a pole of her own!!

IMG_6283

IMG_6291

Most of us had a turn, including the mothers of the bride & groom.

I felt inappropriately dressed for pole dancing (see above photo) but was dragged out to try (did I mention I was sober because I had to drive home?!) and declared a natural!  I’m not sure if I should be proud of that or not…

I suspect my husband was happy that we had pole dancing lessons instead of an   s-t-r-i-p-p-e-r, but that was probably short-lived when he saw Sarah practicing some of the moves I showed her on the clothesline pole!  😉

2 Responses to “Pole Dancing”

  1. LeeAnne Says:

    What a fun idea!! Sure beats strippers, which is totally not my cup of tea. I’ve heard it’s great exercise …

    😉

  2. destinyfay Says:

    That is so much better than strippers. As for Sarah practicing her moves get her into gymnastics maybe you can advert the attention there instead. 😉


Leave a Reply

