The January Blues

January 18, 2010

We have been in semi-hibernation this month.  Naturally our slow time of year at the B&B, we spend much of our free-time curled up in front of the fire, enjoying the freedom of having our home to ourselves.  D’Arcy has been spending all of his spare time (when not flooding the rink) marking & making up exams.  The next couple of weeks mark the end of the semester.  On top of that is the looming deadline (end-of-the-month) to submit the first draft of his Thesis.  On top of that was the stress of a potential strike of educational support workers (including bus drivers!) and D’Arcy is the union rep at his school.  Thank goodness they reached a tentative agreement last night so that’s one less thing to worry about!

I’ve been trying to keep the kids occupied and the house organized.

In the midst of the routine of life, the kids have managed to give us a few good laughs to break the monotony…

When arriving home from Cubs on Thursday, D’Arcy went upstairs and discovered Olivia still awake.  He asked her why she wasn’t asleep and she replied, “Oh, because I’m just up here playing.”

At least she’s honest.

On Saturday night, the boys & I were talking and the conversation got around to relationships and age differences.  There are nine years between D’Arcy & I which they know. They’ve heard the story before of when we were dating and the song “Drive” by “The Cars” came on the radio.  I told D’Arcy that the song reminds me of Junior High dances and he looked at me and said, “This song reminds me of finishing my first degree!”   I mentioned that there is a photo of me at Historic Properties in Halifax on my 10th birthday and in the background is The Lower Deck, the bar where D’Arcy was working at the time!  Evan said, “Wow – either you were really pretty or Dad was really desperate!”

Gee, thanks – I’m going to go with Mom being really pretty…

Last night, as we were waiting for supper to be ready (the ham was larger than I had realized!) D’Arcy & Sarah were playing “Hangman” on the white board in our kitchen.  My heart grew about a hundred sizes as I watched the two of them interacting; Sarah was so serious!  The word she made up was “DAD”.

Love it!

And last but not least, Olivia came up to me, wide-eyed, and very seriously announced, “I wish I could fly in the sky with a frozen yogurt!”

Okay then…

Leave a Reply

