Busy Worrying

April 1, 2010

It’s been hard to post & update lately, as I’ve been too consumed with worry to make anything sound interesting.

I’m worried about my friend Kate & her emotional state.  She has every right to be angry and desperate and right now she is. The future of her toes is still in question. She has been moved from the hospital to rehab, but is still at the top-most level of hospital care in the rehab facility.  This means?  An inflexible policy of No Babies Allowed.  Period.  She will not get to see her newborn son Isaac (who will be a month old on Monday) until she is released to go home.  I spoke with her on the phone for the first time on Tuesday and although she understands this rule on an intellectual level, it broke my heart when she told me, “I would not know him if I passed him on the street.”

Heartbreaking.

I can’t help but worry about her.

On Monday, we woke up to the news of the Moscow suicide bombings.  My childhood sweetheart, Jeff – or Joe as he is affectionately known in this house, lives in Moscow with his wife & daughter and travels that Metro line to his office each day.  Thank heavens for the technology of Facebook and time-zones.  When we heard the news, we were able to log on and receive the update that yes, it was his line, but he was okay.  In his own words, “I was walking into Frunzenskaya station on my way one stop to Park Kultury, where I transfer–when I met a huge wave of people pushing out in the other direction. Glad I stopped for that Starbucks before getting on the metro after all.”

That was too close for comfort, what a frightening & unpredictable world we are bringing our children up in!

The state of tourism in this province seems to be falling apart! We’ve lost the ferry to the States, this town lost the opportunity to have an outsider come invest in our economy, the Hector in Pictou has been closed, Keltic Lodge is scaling back its operations and B&B’s are closing all over the place.  By the time the economy turns back around, we won’t have the infrastructure left to support tourism.

The current government just does not seem to “get it” that Tourism is an economic generator.

I find this so frustrating!

On top of that, Evan has been having a tough time at school again since March Break, another B&B operator – a mentor – has had his leg amputated below the knee due to the flare-up of a circulatory problem, and D’Arcy is still trying to get that Thesis finished up.  There just doesn’t seem to be enough time in the day to get everything we want to get done finished before guest season starts. (Next week!!)

Not much fun material in all that, especially since it’s all out of my control!

Leave a Reply

